top of page

Past Judges

All submissions to the Building and Architect of the Year Awards are judged by an independent panel of recognised and distinguished judges, drawn from academia, business and broader related sectors.

View a sample list of our past judges below and judge us by who judges you.

Ann Marie Aguilar
Director of UK/EMEA Client Relations for the WELL Faculty, IWBI


Gary Boyd

Professor of Architecture, Queen’s University, Belfast

Gerard Bourke

Senior Architect, Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council

Collette Burns

Architectural Project Leader, Campus Planning, TU Dublin

Alan Crawford

Founding Partner, Crawford Partnership

Tim Darmody

Director, Darmody Architecture

Brendan Dervan
Managing Director Dublin, Cundall


Ailish Drake

Director, Drake Hourigan Architects

Garbhan Doran

Director, Co-Founder, Broadstone Architects

Máire Henry

Director, dhb architects & Head of The Department of Architecture, Waterford Institute of Technology


Ronan Holohan

Managing Director, MILLIMETRE DESIGN

Brian Jennings

Architect, Designer & Principal, Jennings Design Studio - Architects

Derry Kearney
Managing Director Ireland & Partner, Cundall Ireland

Paul Kelly

Lecturer in Architectural Design, Theory and Building Technology, DIT

Justin Kinsella

Director, Harcourt Architects

Fergal MacCabe

Founder, MacCabe Durney Barnes


Peter Mance

Director, MAAPS Design & Architecture, UK

Kirk McCormack

Director, Longform Architecture

Frank McDonald
Author & Former Environment Editor of The Irish Times (Judging Co-ordinator)

Susan McGarry

Group Sustainability Manager,  Ecocem Materials

Alan Mee

Owner, Alan Mee Architects


John Mitchell

Owner, DMOD Architects

Peter Murray

Chairman of NLA


Brian O'Neill

Company Director, McCrossan O’Rourke Manning Architects

Shane O’Toole

Adjunct Associate Professor of Architecture, UCD


Derry Scully

Group President, Linesight

Claire Solon

Head of Property, Aviva & Board Member, Home Building Finance Ireland

Michael Stiff

Founder, Stiff + Trevillion Architects, UK

Lynne Sullivan OBE
Architect, RIBA - LSA Studio  (London)

bottom of page